Winter’s Coming… [yarn]

Two weeks from today I’ll be hitting the road to move from California to Pennsylvania, where I’ll be starting grad school.

Fact: I’ve lived in Northern California my entire life. In my life experience thus far, “winter” has always been a weekend destination (the explanation for why I capitalize the N in Northern is a post for another day).

I’m told the winters back east can get pretty chilly–as a knitter, this thrills me. It’s something of a dream come true to finally be living somewhere where I’ll need things to keep me warm! (Yes, yes, we can revisit this statement in February and I’ll tell you if I still feel the same way)

Moving on.

I caught a brutal case of packing procrastination fever last week, which I decided to treat with a couple skeins of chunky alpaca. The result was a super soft, cozy hat (that I’m wearing now, as a matter of fact). See?

so toasty!

Now, be advised that I’m currently living without a real camera, and am limited to images I can capture on my iPhone. Someday soon this situation will be remedied and I’ll have to actually admit to being a crappy photographer. But until then I’m blaming it on the camera phone.

I’m probably going to live in this hat over the winter. Here are the vital stats:

Materials

Cascade Baby Alpaca Chunky [100% Alpaca; 108 yds/99 m per 100g skein]; 1 skein each color:

  • [MC] blue
  • [CC] white

US  size 8 16″ circular or double point needles

US size 10 16″ circular and double point needles

You can grab a pdf of the pattern here, or check it out on Ravelry.


This entry was posted in Fiber. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter’s Coming… [yarn]

  1. Pingback: In The Pink « All Kinds Of Knitting

  2. Pingback: Best Birthday Ever « All Kinds Of Knitting

Leave a Reply

